New member-Hello!

This post has 7 Replies | 6 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 7
lcordova wrote
on 13 May 2009 6:20 PM

Hi, I'm Lynn. I've never joined an online community before. I am 54 years old and a self taught quilter. I watched PBS quilt shows and finally got up enough nerve to try quilting about 15 years ago. I am not very patient with repetition so after trying several quilts that made the same block over and over I quickly started changing patterns and designing my own. I have been a subscriber to QA for a couple of years now and I LOVE IT. I am branching out and trying new things. I have started making pet portraits after reading several articles in the magazine and am now comtemplating painting pictures on material, like acrylic and watercolor artists. My biggest problem is poor health and I work, so finding time when I feel good and have enough energy is sometimes difficult. I have never lived anywhere close to a quilt group, although I did start one in a town I used to live in. That was fun while it lasted. I hope to make this forum my quilt family.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 907
Muppin wrote
on 14 May 2009 6:14 AM

Welcome Lynn!  You sound like my kind of artist.  I am self taught also and also like to experiment!

Have fun on the boards!

Cheryl / Muppin

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 468
okieLinda wrote
on 14 May 2009 6:50 AM

Hi Lynn we share a number 1955 :) also about the same time quilting and wanting to do something differant , We do have a guild here but my quilts dont seem to fit in with their reality so thats why I'm here to, I live in southern Okla and my quilts gets raves from some and disaproval from others but I make them because I love it , Welcome Home :)   Linda

Not Ranked
Posts 7
lcordova wrote
on 17 May 2009 3:51 PM

Thanks.

I didn't get back to you sooner cause I don't know how to navigate yet. If you can't wtch pokey's video, where else can i take a crash course ?

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 907
Muppin wrote
on 18 May 2009 6:13 AM

Hi Lynn,