dremel tool

This post has 15 Replies | 9 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 12
andreamanard wrote
on 15 May 2009 1:23 PM

i got a fancy cordless dremel tool for christmas last year, and i was sooo excited.   i used it today, for the second time since i got it.  anyone use one of these regularly? i used it once to grind off the shank of a plastic button, and today to grind off the tips of some tacks that were a little too long for the piece i was working on.  anyone else have any interesting uses for this tool? i would really like to use it more, i feel like it was wasted on me! lol

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 350
on 15 May 2009 2:02 PM

Me, Me, Me!  I am a Dremel Artist. I have done some work for them. I am on their focus group and meet with them regularly. I have several Dremel rotary tools and all the attachments/accessories. I use them several times a week in my mixed media art, art jewelry, and metal working.  They have a FREE DVD out now that explains how to use the tool and have some projects on there - not art related though.  You can get that off their website.  You can email me offlist with specific questions.

crazyartgirl@sbcglobal.net

Belinda aka crazyartgirl

Blog:  http://alteredbelly.blogspot.com/

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 55
marti13 wrote
on 15 May 2009 2:44 PM

I found some cowrie shells that didn't have the "bump" removed.  I had to use a Dremel tool to grind off the bump. as I bought them to sew onto an art quilt.  I had to invent a holder for the shell while I was grinding, as obviously I couldn't hold it. 

My now-deceased husband bought the Dremel, don't know what he ever used it for.  I haven't found a use for it since the cowrie shell project.

Marti in Houston, Texas

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 38
mary j3 wrote
on 15 May 2009 6:47 PM