painting on fabric

This post has 8 Replies | 5 Followers
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 227
caren12 wrote
on 18 Jun 2009 5:03 AM

I have a question.  I am fairly new at art quilting and totally unexperienced with paint.  What is the best way to use a shell as a "stamp"?  I live close to the Gulf and have a collection of sea shells and drift wood native to the area, (and others bought).  What I want to do is an all over surface design using the shells.  I was thinking painting the outside of a shell and then pressing the cloth over them so an "imprint" is left.  I don't know if this is the best way or not, especially since most are curved. I thought I would ask before I toke the plunge!  Any help is much appreciated.

Caren

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 469
on 18 Jun 2009 10:12 AM

I would try stamping shell to fabric rather than the other way around, but you should have a somewhat cushy towel or somesuch under the fabric to get the best impression. I created a stamping board for myself... a large piece of masonite that I layered with a thick old towel and some old unused fabric. I wrapped the fabric to the back of the masonite and secured it with duct tape and then primed the surface of the fabric with gesso so that it could be wiped somewhat clean after a stamping session.

If you don't mind changing the hand of the fabric, you can use any kind of acrylic paints on the surface. If you want to keep the hand of the fabic as is, you can use thickened dyes or textile paints, or add textile medium to regular acrylic paints.

Would love to see your results when you're finished! :D

- Judi

My Blog   My Art

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 55
marti13 wrote
on 18 Jun 2009 12:43 PM