shiva paint sticks

This post has 8 Replies | 7 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
on 29 Jul 2009 10:45 AM

Newbie here-Am in awe of the piece on the cover of QA magazine's August issue. Look I lot, but still haven't quilted anything! I wanted to try this technique. What are the best kind of fabric paints to use that are typically available at artist supply stores?

Also, have heard a lot about the Shiva paint  sticks, but these seem somewhat expensive, and also not available locally. I sthere something similar that can be used?

Thanks

wpro12

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 133
on 29 Jul 2009 11:15 AM

Hi Wendy

Yes Shiva's are expensive... is there anyone you can purchase with?  This is how I first bought them, 2/3 of us got together, and for the price of one stick we had three colours, cos we'd chopped them into thirds.  So the number of colours you get per price of whole stick increases, ie you need only pay for 2, but  end up with 6 colours.....

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 274
Dale Kathryn wrote
on 29 Jul 2009 10:08 PM

I don't have my August issue yet! Quit teasing me! (lol) But I do have shiva paintsticks that my husband got me for Christmas last year and some pfd fabric ....

TADA / BC

"To create one's own world in any of the arts takes courage." - Georgia O'Keeffe

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 350
on 30 Jul 2009 10:37 PM

Wendy, you asked about fabric paint, I think that there is another thread about that on the forum here.  Here is a similar thread: http://quiltingdaily.com/forums/t/791.aspx

Personally, I use Lumiere and Jacquard fabric paints. I also use Tsukineko all purpose inks a lot with the Fantastix.  I have been known to use acrylic paints especially metallics but that is because I don't wash my art quilts.  I don't use acrylics for screening with stencils but I use acrylics when I stamp or outline on fabric. 

Belinda aka crazyartgirl

Blog:  http://alteredbelly.blogspot.com/

Not Ranked
Posts 2
on 31 Jul 2009 10:58 AM