Hi from the beautiful island of St Martin in the Caribbean's

This post has 17 Replies | 4 Followers
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 54
Caribquilter wrote
on 9 Nov 2009 2:09 PM

Hi, I just joined Quilting Arts forum. I am a relatively new quilter, just finished my 2nd project and plan to show them online as soon as I get the how to.

I'm positive there is a lot to learn from all of you and I'm truly looking forward to be able to exchange views with some of you. Quilting art is unknown down here and I will enjoy the opportunity to chat about this passion we all share.

Looking forward to getting to know you and your masterpieces here in the forum, Caribquilter. 

Not Ranked
Posts 1
firepie wrote
on 9 Nov 2009 9:07 PM

Greetings from St John in the Caribbean......I have been Quilting for about ten years now......moved from Hawaii and only getting my sewing room together after 2 years......making a quilt now just finished the blocks.......a nine patch out of batiks.......I do crazy quilting also......Love it.......Let's share our work.......if you come the Virgin Islands lets share ideas! Welcome to the quilt world!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 907
Muppin wrote
on 10 Nov 2009 9:31 AM

Welcome Caribquilter!  Enjoy the site, and feel free to ask questions! 

Cheryl / Muppin

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 54
Caribquilter wrote
on 11 Nov 2009 2:39 PM

Thank you Muppin. Now that you mention it I have one question right now. I just finished my 1st piece solo and I wondered how to protect the fabrics from light, air and dust. Is there a spray I could buy/order anywhere for that purpose?

Thank you for your reply and your time. I'd be interested to see what you create.

Tropical greetings, Myriam / Caribquilter

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 907
Muppin wrote
on 12 Nov 2009 7:44 AM

Hmmm... I don't use anything to seal my fabric work.  I know that products do exist for it to make fabric fire resistant, but not much about light or color fastness that I am aware of.