Where to begin

This post has 4 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
on 17 Dec 2009 3:59 PM

Hi there. I am a painter who recently fell in love with the quilting arts magazine. I am already getting some great inspiration for new painting projects - especially color combinations. I am very interested in learning about art quilting and would like to try some small pieces to begin with. Maybe just something the size of a placemat. I love the idea of taking all the elements that I know as an artist and putting it into something textural. I love the idea of using buttons, different threads, felt, anything that adds dimention and texture. It seems quite expensive to get into quilting so what are the absolute essentials? Can you make a small quilt using only handstitching?  Thank you for all the inspiration your magazines have given me.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 350
on 19 Dec 2009 8:53 PM

Welcome to the community. I don't come from a quilting background. I am a mixed media artist.  I originally did a lot of collage and altered books.  Now I do a lot of art quilting and metalwork.  You don't need a sewing machine to do small pieces like you are talking about.  Needle and thread will do. You might find that a sewing machine will speed things along though.  You can experiment with different stitches that way.  The essentials would be fabric and batting to make the sandwich.  The rest would be extras.  You decide what you would need for surface design. You sound like you have an idea since you mentioned some surface design elements/embellishments.  The size you are talking about is a great size to start with and to experiment.  You can use your experience with painting and put that on your quilt. You can stamp on there, stencil, paint, draw, or block. 

Have fun!

Belinda aka crazyartgirl

Blog:  http://alteredbelly.blogspot.com/

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 28
on 24 Dec 2009 2:47 AM