free motion quilting workshop

This post has 8 Replies | 3 Followers
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 288
meta1 wrote
on 22 Dec 2009 12:05 PM

Hi,

I'm new to art quilting and just bought the workshop free motion quilting. I've learned everything I need to know except for one thing. On the video Susan drops her foot  so that it sits on the fabric. If I use my darning foot  on my Pfaff machine I have to lower the foot but it is still a long distance from the fabric, which makes it very difficult to control where I'm going. Am I doing it correctly? If I drop the foot on the material I have to pull the fabric to get some movement. Which is the right way?

meta

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 219
ckquilter wrote
on 22 Dec 2009 11:48 PM

dear meta

yes you drop the feed dogs to do free motion sewing.

in normal sewing, with the feed dogs up, the machine will feed the fabric through, by gripping it between the feed dogs and the presser foot. but when you drop the feed dogs, the machine no longer feedsthe fabric. instead, you must move the fabric under the needle. but the nice part is that now you can move the fabric in any direction (free motion!!)

you MUST lower the presser foot lever when sewing, in order for the needle to engage the bobbin properly - even if you don't use any presser foot at all (for some specialty sewing).  so always lower the presser foot lever - whether doing regular sewing with feed dogs or free motion without feed dogs.

the darning foot is made to move up and down - when the needle is raised - the darning foot is up - this lets you move the fabric.

when the needle is down (thru the fabric) - the darning foot is also downn - closer to the fabric - to hold the fabric down and allow the machine to make a nice stitch.                       

so the darning foot moves up and down with the needle as you sew.

when you are just looking at it stationary - the needle is probably up and so is the presser foot. (even with the presser foot lever lowered)