The Art in Fiber

This post has 50 Replies | 8 Followers
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 79
Lana Book wrote
on 18 Mar 2010 8:26 AM

Hi Debbie, when this post showed up on my email I responed via email but don't know if you got that. Tips? Boy, Im a novice at this. For me the biggest drawback to approaching a gallery is my own fear of rejection and that nasty voice inside that says "your stuff isn't good enough". Im working on getting over that.  But for some practical tips:  Visit some galleries and see what they are displaying. You could even do this online but if you go in person you have a chance to establish a "relationship" so to speak with them. Find one or two you are interested in and ask if they would be receptive to looking at your work. Write a artist statement and put together some pictures. Maybe they would rather see a sampling of your work instead of pictures. Ask if you can make a appointment to bring some things in at their convenience. Take the artist statement. Maybe they have a call for entries like the Copper Shade Tree does that you could submit a entry  to. You know, most of us are not good at selling ourselves artistically. It is scary. But so far noone has knocked on my door from a gallery and asked to see my work so guess we have to approach them. I don't remember which Quilting Arts magazines it was but one had a article in it about approaching galleries and one about artist statements. I keep all mine so have a library of QA magazines.  Like I said, Im no expert but hope some of this helps. Also, consider taking a friend with you as moral support or a glass of wine before. But let the friend drive.

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 79
Lana Book wrote
on 18 Mar 2010 8:34 AM