My goddess series, and hello!

This post has 20 Replies | 7 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 5
on 14 Mar 2010 11:48 AM

Hi there!  I wanted to post what I've got going on right now in my mini studio! 

A little background..... 

I'm new to quilting arts.  My mom got me a book on landscape quilts when I was in middle school.  It just wasn't "cool" for my age bracket at the time (very lame, I know) although i thought they were really cool.  The book hid in my closet, forgotten for 10 years. 

I woke up two months ago thinking about art quilts.  I immediately went to the store, picked up some fabric, went home, and started cutting. 

I started with the idea of doing a series of black, white, teal, and red abstract quilts, but it was all wrong.  I just let the fabric take me where it wanted to go. 

Here is what I started with:

Yep, that's painters tape.  Have I mentioned I'm unconventional? 

I changed my mind, and decided that I'd do one 18x22 quilt with four different scenes... Earth, Fire, wind, and Water. This is what I ended up with for the first scene, Water:

I really enjoyed it, but panicked when I realized I didn't know how to affix the pieces for sewing.  I picked up some temporary Aleene's seam glue and tacked down the pieces. 

I made a few changes and ended up with this:

(sorry the colors are so muted, I took pictures with my phone)

I was satisfied.  I started putzing around with the ideas for Wind.  This is how the thought process went:

I did go back to the regular batik background.  That is WIND! 

I was stumped then.... I hated how literal the wind version was compared to the abstract water, so I decided to scrap the water version and come up with a new idea.  From there, I decided I was going to change my series into a Goddess series. 

The next goddess I decided to make was Pele, the Hawaiian Volcano Goddess. Here she is:

And after some rearranging:

I still have a bunch of work to do with her... some rearranging, but that is the general concept.