What is a good "first time" sewing machine?

This post has 3 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
on 1 Jul 2010 9:27 AM

I am planning on buying a sewing machine for the first time and I am REALLY confused on what type to buy. I am a beginner but am interested in learning how to quilt and make more complex projects.

Does anyone have any suggestions on machines? I was thinking a Brother 80 stitch SQ900 model?? Or the Brother CS 6000i?

Money is an issue but I also want a good machine.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 274
Dale Kathryn wrote
on 1 Jul 2010 1:36 PM

I am not familiar with Brother machines, and I am not recommending any one brand over another. However, what I DO recommend is that you purchase your machine from a dealer, not a "big box" store. The dealer will probably give you lessons in how to best use the features of your machine. I would suggest a machine with feed dogs that can be dropped and a needle-down position - both features are necessary if you plan to do free-motion sewing. Buy the very best quality you can afford. Perhaps your dealer may even have a "like new" reconditioned machine that would be just perfect! Good luck and let us know what you get! 

TADA / BC

"To create one's own world in any of the arts takes courage." - Georgia O'Keeffe

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 225
ckquilter wrote
on 2 Jul 2010 12:18 AM

hi melissa

listening to other people's suggestions is a good start - but..............

even better, is for you to do your own research.

1. make a list of the things you want your new machine to be able to do

2. make small samples to take with you - of the things on your list. for example,

you want to do free motion quilting - you need several small (say 10 or 12 inch square) mini quilts - back, batt and top. and you need to take the thread you plan on using for quilting.