What to do with the art quilts I'm creating

This post has 4 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
Violet43 wrote
on 21 Sep 2010 9:53 AM

I have been quilting for many years, mostly I have been making minature traditional quilts but in the last year or two I have been moving away from traditional and doing more art type quilts, still small.  I am feeling very frustrated at the moment as I sometimes feel - why am I doing this and where is it going.  I don't know if what I am doing is good, bad, mediocre or what.  Other than hanging them on my wall nothing is happening.  How do I get some satisfaction that I'm doing something and that is is acceptable as fiber (quilting) art?

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 890
Muppin wrote
on 21 Sep 2010 10:54 AM

Hi Violet43.  I also mainly make small works. As I progressed on my journey, I have often wondered the same thing as you.  I make things for myself, mainly, not to sell or to give away.  What it leaves me with is a bunch of questions about "where is this all going?" and "what do I do with all of these things?".  (I won't even get into the questions from others asking if I plan to join them all together into a larger quilt.) 

What I can tell you is that it took me a while to agree to make what I liked to make, rather than what I ought to make.  Eventually, your favorite style or technique will emerge, and perhaps that will be something you will to explore.  Or you may decide to eventually part with your works and decide to sell some.  But at least along the way you will have fun!

Perhaps you need a group of art quilters who can help critique each other's work to stretch your abilities?  That helped me decide what direction to take this whole crazy art train...  I'm sure there's LOTS of people on this forum who are in similar situations!

Cheryl / Muppin

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 76
Shegirl wrote
on 21 Sep 2010 11:42 PM