Finished wall art for a nursery-- first of a trio!

This post has 7 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 5
on 6 Dec 2010 1:50 PM

Hello everyone, I thought I'd post this in here... I haven't posted anything in a LONG time!  Love the magazine.  :) 

Please let me know what you think!  This is an art quilt, one of three in a series that I'm making for my cousin's baby.

The concept:

The start:

More....

Some changes..

Major re-design:

And the finished product:

Sorry for the picture overload! 

I'm pretty new to art quilts and sewing, so when it came time to quilt the darn thing, I chickened out and framed it instead.  I'm still extremely happy with how things worked out!  Any constructive criticism is welcome.  Had I more time, I would have added more to the foreground. 

It is made out of commercial prints and batiks.  I have glued in some scrapbooking details like some of the little flowers, the "Happiness lives here" sign, and the nameplate.  I love taking details from odd commercial prints and fabrics and turning them into something totally different. 

Thanks in advance!

Not Ranked
Posts 5
on 6 Dec 2010 1:52 PM

Oh also-- it is sized 11x24.  Obscure size, I know.  It was originally going to be 12x24, but the frame I found that worked cut an inch off of the width. 

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 78
DinahT wrote
on 7 Dec 2010 9:49 AM

I think that you have done very well with this.

One thing I would most likely add is some thread-painted some grass around the water. It would help to soften the edge and blend the two together a little more.

By the way, I LOVE the mountains and I look forward to the rest of the pieces.

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 11
Lissa quilts wrote
on 10 Dec 2010 9:19 AM