Inkjet Printers

This post has 12 Replies | 4 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 12
MAH4 wrote
on 24 Mar 2011 3:11 PM

Hi, I'm fairly new to the Art Quilt world and want to purchase an inkjet printer to make use of some of the new products, i.e. printing onto cotton, organza, silk, canvas (all paper backed for printers) and lutradur. It seems that people like the Epsons the best.

What do you have and how do you like it?

Thanks from Canada MAH4

Not Ranked
Posts 5
on 25 Mar 2011 12:29 PM

Epson.. Why?  Quality of their ink.  Always check out the ink for fade resistance, water resistant, Fast drying, all these are on the ink packaging.  I have a large format Epson 13 x 19 inches with 6 colors of ink..  Great for canvas reproduction of art, so you know it is good on muslin.  Also, have an Epson all-in-one with 4 colors in my sewing room.  This is the one I experiament with on all sorts of "cloth".

Enjoy and always have fun..

Sheila

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 88
hpthecat wrote
on 25 Mar 2011 3:40 PM

I have an Epson Artisan 800. If I could use Epson in an HP printer that would be my preference. I do not like Epsons software and there are some limitations with my machine that I don't care for.

I appreciate your asking this question though because it has sent me researching, and maybe I can have Pigmented Ink through an HP machine....

Here are some sights for you to check out:

http://www.oddparts.com/ink/faq19.htm

http://www.inkjetart.com/cart/

Bernina 820, Babylock Evolution, Babylock Embellisher, Babylock Audrey.

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 274
Dale Kathryn wrote
on 25 Mar 2011 4:39 PM

Be careful when you DO select your printer that the replacement toner is readily available to you. One of our printers was manufactured for a specific retailer and that retailer is the ONLY place we can get the toner - which means over an hour's drive there and back to get replacements.

TADA / BC

"To create one's own world in any of the arts takes courage." - Georgia O'Keeffe