Dunes and Ocean

This post has 9 Replies | 4 Followers rated by 1 users
Not Ranked
Posts 4
mlcouch wrote
on 18 Aug 2011 6:56 AM

I'm new to art quilting and would love feedback. I want to learn more about perspective, shadowing, stitching in details... The actual size is about 14"x20". It depicts a mail box along the beach at Bird Island, Sunset Beach, NC.  See what you think and thanks for looking.

Hugs from Mary    

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 219
ckquilter wrote
on 18 Aug 2011 10:51 PM

hi mary

i like the soft freeform quilting in the sky - looks like clouds. and the birds are nice too.

i also like the little bit of color in the sky (the warm colors add life to the blue).

the ocean isnice also - but how about a bit of sparkle on the water - from sunlight? maybe with a bit of metallic thread ? it would not be allover - just hat little bit that leads your eye to the light.

is the ocean really calm - or does it need a little wave action ? maybe a piece of chesecloth (could be lightly painted) tucked into the waves.

the colors in the sand are also nice, as are theswirled shapes in the sand. i don't like the straight linesbetween the different sand pieces, though. you have nice soft flowing lines, and then clunk, you hit the straight edge of the next piece. i would prefer them to continue that soft, flowing feel.

the cream sand in the foreground has a much nicer edge than the ones in the midground. and still has nice flowing quilt lines in it. you have also increased the scale of the shapes - good for realism.