Sewing together small pieces of fabric.

This post has 9 Replies | 6 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Ylva S wrote
on 16 Jun 2012 2:43 PM

Hi all...I am new to quilting, and I got myself a nice quite fancy sewing machine (Silver 9000E) with lots of stitches and feet and so on. I do not know if it is something I do wrong, or if the sewing machine is faulty or simply not set up properly, but when I try to sew together small pieces of fabric, the machine chews the fabric into the "footpad" sewing stitch after stitch on the others making a complete mess of the fabric...

Can it be that I have the tension too loose or tight, or is the needle too old? Is there something else I have not thought of...? Any help is greatly appreciated...:)

Many thanks,

Ylva in Inverness, UK

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 907
Muppin wrote
on 18 Jun 2012 8:15 AM

Hi Ylva-

This may be the pressure of your presser foot is too tight.  Try loosening up the presser foot tension before you try the tension of the threads.

Cheryl / Muppin

Not Ranked
Posts 3
Ylva S wrote
on 18 Jun 2012 3:30 PM

Thank you, Cheryl.

I will sit down and give that a try one evening this week. I have not done much experimenting with the machine yet...I think it is time for that to change:)

Ylva

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 907
Muppin wrote
on 19 Jun 2012 8:36 AM

I know that when you fiddle with tensions, it can be hard to get it back to the previous setting, but at least the presser foot pressure settings are easy to go back to.  Good luck!

Cheryl / Muppin

Not Ranked
Posts 6
BeverlyS31 wrote
on 28 Jun 2012 11:55 AM

Hi Ylva!