ink sketch Quitl

This post has 2 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Rose46 wrote
on 13 Oct 2012 11:18 AM

Hello I am new to this web site, me and my daughter was watch the program she is very interested in the Ink Sketch Quilt.  I am trying to find out if you have to use 100% cotton white fabirc and what Acrylic inks are best and resable price.

thank you,

Rose

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 902
Muppin wrote
on 23 Oct 2012 3:54 PM

Welcome Rose!

Do you know what episode number the segment you are referring to was in? 

Thanks,

Cheryl / Muppin

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 228
ckquilter wrote
on 10 Nov 2012 12:25 AM

hi rose

i am not sure which program you are talking about - but here is some general info.

you can use any fabric you want. any color you want. however, a white fabric will give you the clearest colors. start with a cream color fabric, and your ink colors will become slightly greyed when painted on the fabric.   you could start with any light color fabric. but it will change the color of your inks a bit, as the color of the fabric and the color of the ink will blend visually.

a high thread count fabric wil give a smoother  look - especially good for faces- if you don't want them to look blotchy.   i can usually find a high thread count white muslin that works nicely.

you could also use a white on white print. the two whites will take the ink differently - giving a textured, mottled look to the painting. it looks especially nice for large flowers or leaves - gives great textured look.   but would not be my choice for realistic looking faces.