Quilter from Long Island

This post has 13 Replies | 6 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
on 21 Nov 2012 10:24 AM

Hi! I found this website quite by accident. But you have some lovely topics so I'm hoping to stay around for a while. I'm from Long Island, NY. Any other Long Islanders out there? Love to hear from you! I've been quilting about a year. Belong to all sorts of guilds and clubs. Hoping to exchange ideas and thoughts.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 903
Muppin wrote
on 27 Nov 2012 4:22 PM

Welcome dangerousminds!

Thanks for posting, and welcome to the forums!

Cheryl / Muppin

Not Ranked
Posts 6
teamnewcomer wrote
on 14 Jan 2013 12:20 AM

Hi! My mom just gave me a subscription to this magazine for a xmas present. I LOVE the idea of embellishing my quilts. I have been quilting on and off  for about 10 years (judging by the # of quilts I have completely finished- mostly off!). Kids are gettin older and I'm ready to make fabric magic :)

I grew up in Mt.Sinai, NY and went to Port Jefferson Highschool, but now I live outside of Seattle. I love NY and always will!!!!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 903
Muppin wrote
on 15 Jan 2013 3:46 PM

Welcome teamnewcomer!

Congrats on the new subscription and can't wait to see what you make!  Enjoy the forums!

Cheryl / Muppin

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 228
ckquilter wrote
on 16 Jan 2013 3:45 AM

hi teamnewcomer

the seattle area has many wonderful quilters. many are doing awesome art and embellished quilts.

have you checked out meow and fan. both groups are great for learning. or if you are on the west sideof the sound, try ffab in port gamble.

the kitsap quilt guild has its show the middle of february - and we have some good art quilters in our group.

thenthe first of march, the sew expo in puyallup is a great place to look for new tools and ideas.

there are also several art quilt groups around.                                                 ckquilter

Not Ranked
Posts 6
teamnewcomer wrote
on 16 Jan 2013 4:02 PM