Do you feel confident in your quilts artistic merits?

This post has 33 Replies | 10 Followers rated by 2 users
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 87
arlijohn wrote
on 29 Oct 2009 12:07 PM

I look and admire other peoples work daily. Wow, what a great idea! or How did they think of that? When it comes to my own work I am full of insecurities. Is it good enough? Did I express my idea well or not? Will anyone be interested in my designs or quilts?

I often wonder if other people suffer these self-doubts or not. I feel driven to make the quilts I make. There is no logical explanation other than a need to share a part of myself with others. I am not a trained artist, I am self taught. I truly love the journey of designing and making a quilt.

I talk to women who have stacks of their own quilts piled up in their homes, I keep none of mine. Does that mean I don't value my work? I have always thought it was because once I have finished a piece I was ready to move on to the next idea. Do any of you have these same thoughts?

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 3,413
Pokey wrote
on 30 Oct 2009 5:07 AM

Arlijohn,

I think most everyone feels this way (at least I do). I tend to not keep my work and give it away for a couple of reasons: 1) I see flaws, and hope they wont be as glaring to the recipient, and 2) I'm ready to move on...

I suggest if you are going to give your quilts away, take pictures first. Many times I have not done that and when people ask to see my quilts I have kicked myself for not documenting better. Secondly, if you are on the fence about keeping something, keep it. Stick it in a closet for a while, then bring it back out again. My guess is that afte a little time has passed, you will see merit it in and it'll make you smile.

Good question!

Pokey

Pokey Bolton

Founder of Quilting Arts Magazine

TV Host, Quilting Arts on PBS

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 78
DinahT wrote
on 30 Oct 2009 8:39 AM