wearable arts and sustainability

This post has 7 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
deborah joy wrote
on 25 Mar 2010 10:17 AM

hello, i work in the sustainable fashion field and see how well these concepts can play together. Sustainable fashion is about fiber choice, environmental concern and ethical consumerism as opposed to the fast fashion marketing that overwhelms us . Art by nature is fairly indy and expressive and reFashion (aka  upcycle and recycouture) is both.

Not Ranked
Posts 1
on 25 Mar 2010 11:27 AM

I am 62 years old and have been using scraps and such all my life.   I have grown to have a hatred for the ads on TV telling everyone that we must HAVE certain things.  Yes, I have been rejected by people for wearing old items, BUT I have also been accepted for it more times than not.  I love re-doing old garments.  I made a coat for my 2 year old granddaughter from one of her mother's old coats.  It was great...just put decorations where a hole happpened to be.    I find it more exciting to use leftovers than to cut into a new piece.  I love the creaticity of people like you.  Mary

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 321
on 25 Mar 2010 1:22 PM

I once made a sweater out of all the old sweaters I no longer wear. I cut them up, patched them back together, and wound up with something I will actually wear. Using leftovers can really bring out your creativity!

Not Ranked
Posts 3
deborah joy wrote
on 26 Mar 2010 6:25 AM

thank you for the reply.

The mindset of the American consumer is so off track with the "real world" we know now because of better science. However this is at odds with the  old paradigms.

Fashion can  disempower that old mindset and do it with style.  Everyone out there walking around in a refashion is celebrating the human creative spirit and is part of the re-balancing. ( and when buying new clothing or fabric ask about the fiber content  and the labor conditions)