Pet-ty Journal portraits

This post has 6 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
RuthB@14 wrote
on 11 Sep 2010 8:50 PM

I'm going to apologize right now as I don't think I'm probably posting this question in the proper place, but I'm new to this and just thought I'd jump into the "general" category. 

I watched the QA show this a.m. and the project about "Pet-ty" Journal Portraits.  Then I eagerly downloaded the instructions from the website.  However, on the TV program, they seemed to use a specific type of paper to print the pet picture on, which was then sewn and ultimately dipped in water.  Could someone please tell me what type of paper was used?  The instructions from your website talk about Thermofax and screen printing, which seems much more complicated than how it was done on the TV program today.  Any information would be appreciated - I really want do this project!!

Thanks so much!

Ruth

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 907
Muppin wrote
on 12 Sep 2010 11:53 AM

Ruth-

I split this off from the thread you posted under to it's own topic, so this was not in the middle of another discussion.

What episode number are you talking about and do you know who the teacher of that TV segment was?  That will help in trying to track down what product they used.

Cheryl / Muppin

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 60
on 13 Sep 2010 9:44 AM

Hi Ruth,

Pokey has done two different projects featuring portraits of her dogs.  One in Series 200 (project number 202-4) the other in Series 600 (project 609-1).

The one in Series 200 Pokey started with a digital picture and printed the picture on ink jet fabric sheets.  The other (project 609-1) she used a thermofax machine to make the stencil - you could also make your own stencil as well.

I will watch the Series 600 episode again (it has been a few months since I saw it last) and respond with more detail.

Enjoy your day.

Sally 

Sally Murray
Interweave - Quilt/Paper Group
Sudbury Office Manager

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 60