problems with free motion embroidery

This post has 5 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
on 24 Oct 2010 10:30 AM

Hi,

I'm new to quilting and machine embroidery.  For many years have been a hand embroiderer /weaver using  paper and now want to change direction slightly by using fabric.   In particular I want to  free motion embroidery.   Have had several goes  - boy what a problem!  

I am using a new  Pfaff expression 2.  Have done everything the instruction book says but moving the fabric is like trying to move a brick wall and all the thread builds up underneath in a huge ball.  Have tried using a hoop, using fabric with a stabiliser and no hoop, all sorts of fabric - all to no avail. What am I doing wrong? In every other aspect the machine is fine.  Help please?

Thanks

Princess Peach 

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 133
on 24 Oct 2010 11:58 AM

In order to free machine, you need to drop the feed dogs on the machine, as its the operator who controls how and where the fabric moves.  I would also put an embroidery foot on the machine, or a darning foot.  This protects fingers from the needle and also serves as a reminder to drop the presser foot lever.  These type of feet do not touch the fabric, they are not meant to.  Now, forgive me, have you put your fabric in the hoop the right way round?  For hand sewing, embroidery tends to be done so the fabric is flush to the edge of the hoop, for machine embroidery its the other way around, so the fabric will sit flush to the plate of the machine, and you have the "walls" of the hoop to hold on to, (by putting your fingers on the top edge so you don't lift the hoop at all), and I'd say you need the fabric tight, drum tight.