Is there a printer 'transfer sheet' that just transfers the 'ink' image (or has a transparent backing) when applied to fabric?

This post has 15 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 9
sparkiehill wrote
on 4 Feb 2011 8:37 AM

Hi,

I'm new to asking questions online so forgive me if this isn't the proper format to seek HELP for a fabric/quilting problem. I am putting together a Chuppah (wedding canopy) for friends that are getting married.  The wedding will be held outside and the center of the Chuppah will have very sheer fabrics to allow the sun to shine through onto the couple.

The couple want several short verses to be printed on the very sheer, semi-transparent and flimsy fabric. At first, I didn't think it was a problem because, in the past, I have used images from my computer files and printed them onto transfer sheets that feed through my printer. I then ironed on the image to all types of fabrics. Of course the fabrics were always opaque and heavier.

The problem is: I can't find a transfer sheet that allows just the transfer of the letters in the verse. They all seem to have an opaque backing that transfers along with the text when ironed onto the sheer fabric. I had thought that I could find transfer sheets that would transfer only the 'ink' from the printer image (similar to what I had used 30 years ago as a teenager to transfer 'blue' colored images of simple designs to embroider) or one that had a transparent backing. Is there such a product out there? If so, what is the brand name so I can purchase some. I've had no luck with my on-line search.