New to art quilting

This post has 18 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 7
earthanjel wrote
on 19 Oct 2011 1:11 PM

Hello,

I thought I would drop in and introduce myself. I have been quilting for about 18 months now but doing traditional quilts and learning all that I can. (And I still have a ton to learn.) 

The owner of my favorite shop told me one day recently that she could see me really getting into art quilting. I have been looking into what that meant ever since and I definitely want to see what I can do here!! The added creativity that art quilting allows is amazing. I don't even know where to begin. LOL I just want to make something. ;)

I am fascinated by the tidbits on surface design and dyeing that I have seen already and really would love to work more with applique. Texture and 3D elements seem like a lot of fun as well.

I suppose I need to decide where to start and just get going like I did with my first traditional quilts.

Can't wait to learn more and get to know all of you here.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 906
Muppin wrote
on 20 Oct 2011 8:07 AM

Welcome earthanjel!  I hope you enjoy the forums!  You get to start pretty much anywhere you want and have a lot of fun!  There's a lot of help on this board, so feel free to ask questions!

Cheryl / Muppin

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 231
ckquilter wrote
on 20 Oct 2011 5:41 PM

hi earthanjel

a whole world of possibilites and learning - it does not get any better than that !

but you have to start somewhere ! soooo, what do you love? what is important to you? what story would you like your art to tell ?

once you have an idea or concept in mind, then you can learn the methods you need to portray your idea. and each new idea will require some new method !       you might even start by looking at the challenge posted.   try thread sketching - and learn to use some of the metallic and specialty threads out there (how about the glow in the dark threads ?  fun for halloween !)    or some couched yarn?