First Art-style quilt

This post has 8 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
HerGram wrote
on 2 May 2009 5:41 AM

Hello,

This is my first attempt at doing something arty. The background is Ricky Tim's convergence quilt. The flowers are broderie perse and the hummer is fusible applique. Is the hummer's head wrong? What should I do for borders?There is a thin black border so far. Unfortunately, I am out of the hand-dyed fabric. Any ideas for quilting design; I plan to do some outline free-motion but don't know what else.

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 238
Jody Johnson wrote
on 2 May 2009 8:59 AM

I love the colours of this quilt and how well the humming bird and flower both blend and contrast with the background.

For free-motion quilting you could maybe quilt some branches and hibiscus leaves around the flowers, making it look like an actual hibiscus plant reaching into the frame. I would probably keep these features to the right-hand side of the quilt to make it look like the hummingbird is flying into the plant. It would really anchor the flowers to the background. Your background shading works well for this as the blues/greens in the lower right hand corner suggest shadows while you upper left corner has warmer tones, suggesting light coming into the photo.

As for the hummingbird's head, I think it just doesn't look right to you because the black cap just draws too much attention and pulls you eye away from the rest of the quilt. Maybe toning down this fabric will bring it back into the balance.

As for borders, I have no suggestions. Sorry! I would have to say borders are my weak point and I struggle everytime I add them, so much I just don't add them to my work a lot of the time!

I would love to see your end product! Good luck.

Jody

Not Ranked
Posts 4
HerGram wrote
on 3 May 2009 7:44 AM