How to launder felting projects

This post has 3 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
Ro LoCa wrote
on 23 May 2013 8:59 PM

Hi,
I have been watching Quilting Arts for about a month now and have taken an interest in the felting projects.  I am very new to quilting, sewing, embrodery, etc.  With that said, I was wondering if there is a general guideline for cleaning of felted projects i.e handwashing in cold water?  Or, is care specific to the materials being used?  Any advice or direction is sincerely appreciated; I'd hate to finish a project, clean it and have it fall apart.

Thanks!!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 219
ckquilter wrote
on 24 Jun 2013 6:46 AM

hi roloca

felting projects are either hand needle felted or wet felted. wet felted items have already been thru a lot of water (usually warm) and soap - so washing them is not much of a problem, even with more warm water and soap. if they are of wool.

needle felted items may be of many different materials -so then it will depend on the individual item. if all the components of the item are washable, then the whole shoud be washable. however, if using wool which has not already been wet felted, then warm water could easily make the item smaller during an initial wash.

if you are washing a wearable that has been wet felted - then just wash in slightly cooler water and the wool should have already been fulled (shrunk thoroughly), and so should be stable to further washing (just not the rough cycle of the washing machine and a HOT dryer.)   if the garment has needle felted embellishments, you will want to use cool water and minimal agitation - so by hand, and lay flat and blocked to dry (ie NO dryer).

for dimensional items - such as bags or bowls  - you will need to wash those by hand. again, if the item was wet felted originally, then further washing in cool water should be no problem. if needle felted, you will need to be more careful, and keep the water cool and the agitation to a minimum.