Say hi!

This post has 2 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
zslhhx wrote
on 27 May 2014 3:53 AM

Hi! I am new here.

I like handmade. I found this website by accident. I hope I can learn more in here.

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Velma51 wrote
on 6 Jul 2014 7:24 PM

Hi my name is Velma and I am brand new to quilting and sewing. I am trying to make new friends and to pick brains about their timeless knowledge. I have a few things wrong with my hands, but I do have lots of sewing machines. I just need a push or some encouragement. I am 62 and have lots of time on my hands to do things. I just don't do them.

How about you? The pictures of the things you have made are too awesome. I do not have that kind of talent, I can see it in my mind, but can't put it to work...

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 224
ckquilter wrote
on 12 Jul 2014 4:23 AM

hi velma

welcome to quilting !!   should warn you - it is addicting !!

and you meet the nicest people !

my hands don't work too well either. deformed from 40 years of arthritis.

so i do most of my work on the machine.    there are some things you can do, and tools to acquire that will make sewing easier and more comfortable.

find a rotary cutter that works for you. some (most) put a lot of pressure onyour hands and wrists - pressure in the wrong place.  find one where the handle fits your hand - without having to hold it real tight. (i have no grip strength. so my handle fits my palm without having to make a fist.

change blades as soon as they start to dull -so you don't have to use any more pressure than needed.

find scissors that work for you. i like the fiskars sof touch. boththe large and small. they have a rubber type handle , so are not slippery. also, they self open. so you use your hand strength to close  them, only. which is the way you hand has the most strength. regular scissors you have to use strength to both open and close - they are very had on your hands