Hi I'm New!

This post has 2 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
n2crafts wrote
on 31 Jul 2014 10:03 PM

I have been quilting for about 10 years or so.....even though I haven't made a quilt in over a year or so....I've been busy making patchwork jackets - my friends seem to love these - some have 2 or 3!  Share with me what you think.  I have pictures at n2crafts.wordpress.com - leave me a comment!  Don't be cruel :)

I'm still intrigued with these jackets - no 2 are ever the same - I do what I call "haphazard quilting" on them with haloshimmer thread.

I'm still working full-time so I'm kind of isolated from my guild - but hopefully when I retire in a year or so, I'll have plenty of time to experiment and fellowship with my fellow fabricholics.  Yes I'm one of those too.  I have fabric that is over 5+ years old that is still "just too pretty to cut".  Don't judge.

I've made 10 jackets this year for my quilt guild's annual boutique.  I use my scraps religiously, and use my snipped threads and incorporate them into my art quilts. You'd be surprised at the results!

Hope to hear from you fellow quilters soon.

Craftyarles

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 226
ckquilter wrote
on 13 Aug 2014 6:26 PM

hi crafty

so you have 5 year old fabric ?!!?!   it is not even mature yet !give it another 15 years - then it is coming of age.

if it is still too pretty to cut - you just have not found the right project for it yet.    or better still, don't cut it up into little pieces. how about using some of it for the front panel of a jacket. and then doing patchwork on the other side of the jacket front. best of both worlds. you get to use (and wear !) the pretty stuff, and you get to be creative on the other side.   added bonus - does not take as long to work on, because of the big piece side. which means you get to start on the next one sooner .