New to Here

This post has 1 Reply | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 6
on 9 Dec 2014 12:06 AM

Hello Everyone!

I am new to this site. I've been quilting for about 5 years now, sewing for 19 years, seems like a blink. 

I am looking forward to combining my love for art with my quilt. I have already done so a bit but need more training in the "translation" between art and quilting. So, basically, needing my "art quilt" training in techniques and good, solid critiquing. I have recently been playing around with free motion embroidery, soooo wonderful for applique purposes. 

My quilter's guild is having an awesome Christmas Postcard "exchange" which I decided to participate in with an original design. It's not my greatest and the background fabric is not ideal at all. That being said, it IS my first time making a fabric postcard, AND my first thread painting. I figured I'd have some fun with it and give the painting technique a go. Shown below modeled by my loving cat who decided I was not allowed to have all the window light.

Here is my first "non- traditional" and COMPLETED lol, quilt. This was for my guild's Pelican Quilt Contest. It's a faux applique, my own personal design within the rules of the basic pelican shape. The v's are appliqued. I really really fell in love with art quilts with this piece. I am looking forward to combining my traditional piecing, especially for borders or accent pieces, with art quilt techniques. This piece, yet untitled, is my son's, designed for him with his love for birds. He also picked out the backing fabric, cardinals in snowy birch trees. This is technically only the second contest I've entered, the first a year ago with the Missouri Star Quilt Company "lovely" contest. Sew, this is the first "real" contest I'd participated in where the quilt was seen in person. Of the 15 quilts there I managed to take 4th. Sew, this piece is really my "kick-off" which showed me that "non-traditional" for me is a perfect harmony.