My Friends

58 years old

Shared Favorites

  • KimE15 has not yet identified any favorite posts.
View all favorites

My Bio

Hi!  This is my first time ever joining an online group.  I've been quilting in some capacity since the late 1970's when I was in college but have been sewing nearly all my life. I made doll clothes for my own dolls and my little sister's and learned to embroider when in grade school. I learned basic garment sewing in Home Economics in junior high and high school and made many of my own clothes.  I was a self taught quilter until I took my first class in 1999 when a new quilt shop opened in my town.  I had moved to the area 2 years before and when I discovered the new shop it changed my life!  Not only have I made wonderful friends but I was given the opportunity to work in that store, eventually doing some teaching.  I have been exposed to many talented people and learned a great deal about myself as well.  Unfortunately that wonderful store closed this spring but I will carry the relationships and lessons learned with me forever!

I have been married for 28 years to a wonderful man and we have 3 beautiful daughters. I have an empty nest now as my youngest is a junior in college and won't be home this summer for the first time.  My daughters are all very talented in their own rights: my oldest, now 25, is a fabulous knitter and book maker, my middle one, now 23, is a baking and pastry chef, and my youngest, just turned 21, is a performing arts with a dance emphasis major and also does costume work. I have one cat, Merlin, who keeps me company while my dear husband travels for his job.  I belong to my local quilt guild and am involved in their charity quilting. I take an ongoing quilt class through one of the local community colleges from a very talented teacher, Karen Cunagin, and I recently became a member of the Visions Quilt Gallery in San Diego. I am looking forward to this new experience in joining this community.  My daughters will be so proud!